T Nation

How to Start?

I am just now getting into this sport, and have become obsessed. I have been reading through this Forum, but this is my first time posting ! I have followed advice that I read on here and got a coach who I work with once a week (the most I can afford). As of now I am working on building strength in the front squat, clean style dead lift, and OH press.

I work on the actual lifts and form once a week and and beginning to feel more comfortable with them. I was wondering if building strength before I switch my training to doing the actual lifts 3 to 4 times a week was a good approach to starting this sport. I am more then willing to change my approach as I have only been going at it for about a month. Just need some advice so I start off properly and progress accordingly.

I really think the first place to start is make sure you have the mobility to get into the proper positions. I assume you coach is qualified to teach the lifts so he should be able to tell you if you are deficient. That is the main thing that held me back for the first year or so.

You really need mobility more than flexibility. I was able to get more flexible by stretching but i was still unable to achieve the bottom position of the snatch. I do this before all my workouts and it fixed me in about a month. Do this as a warm up then just do what your coach says.

http://www.cathletics.com/gallery/video.php?videoID=74

Thanks ! The video is something I am going to start doing.

Do the bar work every other day and get coached once a week. Do not ignore your strength, do this after the bar work. Once you get more comfortable with what your doing you can start to lift more on your own. Just be a bit more patient at the start and you don't learn bad habits on your own. I read somewhere that it takes about 12x as long to unlearn something (blatent internet BS but you get what I mean). Hammer your FS up. There is nothing in this world that a 3x bw FS can not cure.

Koing