T Nation

How to O-Lift Correctly?

I am an athlete, have been lifting for a few years, and consider my self to be in good shape. However, I am new to Olympic lifting (which I want to learn because of its benefits for athletics) and have a few questions for any O-Lifters out there.

I am familiar with the power clean and power snatch and have been practicing that for a month or so now but the full clean & jerk is a whole new animal to me. I know jumping off the ground and performing a "power stomp" is OK for the power clean and power snatch, but I am concerned that leaving the ground and landing in a full clean position might be detremental for my knees, and I am afraid to attempt the exercise without knowing this info.

I have a few questions for any O-Lifters:
1) Is it standard practice for an olympic lifter to leave the ground and land in a full squat for the clean or snatch, or will it destroy the knees?

2) Is it better to power clean and power snatch from the floor or in the hang position?

3) If I am doing these exercises for athletic ability (speed, vertical jump, overall power) not for competition, do I even need to practice the full variations of the lifts, or will the power versions (just 1/4 to 1/2 squat, not full squat) do the trick?

4) And finally does anybody have a good O-Lifting program/training template to follow including supplemental lifts, recovery periods, warm ups, and diet?

I know I am asking a lot of questions, but is only because I am very curious and want to start practicing these great lifts as soon as possible. Any information would be greatly appreciated. Thank You.

I've been waiting for the T-authors here to release an article for ages on this subject. Alot of people include Oly lifts into their weight training, but very few people actually have an effective "Olympic weightlifting Routine". I've seen a few but none that tickle my fancy. Let's ask CT for a basic template the next time he's in the locker room.