T Nation

How to Improve Squats?

I had been following Mark Rippetoe's Starting Strength routine for about two weeks when I injured my hip, I believe it was because I rushed into deeps squats without preparation. I gave it a few weeks rest and it feels much better now, I have just started getting back into squatting with proper stretching beforehand, but I noticed my squat strength has decreased quite a bit.

I still trained upper body while taking time off squats without straying too far from the program outlined, Wednesday will be my day to get back into the starting strength routine.

I'm still a beginner but to give an idea my lifts at about 180lbs, I don't know what my body-fat is but I'd guess 18%.

Deadlift: 1x5 - 255lb
Squat: 3x5 - 185lb
Bench: 3x5 - 165lb
Power Clean: 5x3 - 135lb
Wide grip pull ups I can do about 5 with good technique
(Fixed the sets and reps)

So my question is how can I get my squat strength back up the speed other than obviously doing it several times a week and how to prevent further injuries that would result in taking time off squatting again.

Are there specific stretches or supplementary exercises I can do on non-training days or cardio/conditioning days? I really like the SS routine and plan on sticking with it for as long as I'm still making any gains.

JT

Honestly bud, at your level the best thing you can do to improve your squats is squat.. squat often, squat with intensity and squat with perfect technique.

If you want to also add in some assistance then lifts that I found really improved my squats are bulgarian split-squats and good-mornings. When it comes down to it though, they are called assistance for a reason.. you really just need to squat.

Edit:
If you're having trouble getting into a squat (flexibility wise) then a good exercise to do is the 4 part squat:
1. start standing with your feet in your squat stance (roughly shoulder width. maybe a bit wider)