How to Get Started with Training Men's Physique

Hey everyone,

I am a personal trainer and circus performer. I want to start training for Men’s Physique but it just seems overwhelming. As soon as I can afford it (just got started at a gym and building clients) I am going to be getting a trainer myself for this reason.

Tips on what to look for in a trainer?
Tips on what I need to research to begin with?
Anything general things things. Thanks!

My first advice is to get a coach (not a personal trainer!) who has competed, and competed WELL. I’ve seen waaaaay too many typical commercial gym PT’s try to get clients ready to compete, and just drop the ball horribly. Of course I’ve also seen “coaches” who have competed, and while to someone who doesn’t know any better that may sound good, but the last thing you want is someone who has routinely placed at the very bottom of whatever contest they’ve entered.

Next, find someone with a proven track record. This is the current generation of “I can quote studies and make myself sound really knowledgeable online.” As such, make sure someone knows, and has shown that they know HOW TO ACTUALLY IMPLEMENT the information you need in achieving a contest level physique. Something Brad (@BrickHead) and I joke about whenever we see certain other coaches subtle bragging about whatever degrees they may have in an attempt to throw shade at anyone else, is how you really only need the most rudimentary UNDERSTANDING of basic nutrition and how it factors into performance and appearance in regard to bodybuilding. Most of the really sciencey stuff I’ve learned over the years never comes up, and Brad’s an actual RD with MULTIPLE sports nutrition related degrees -lol