T Nation

How to Enhance Rote Memorization

Hi guys, so I am studying for some big exams and I really need to just memorize a bunch of names and characteristics verbatum. I am much more of a concept guy and am not very good at memorizing. Any tips? Supplements, study habits, anything would help!

Thanks!

Tell you what I've been doing is to write the information repeatedly while saying it to myself.

So if I needed to memorize a list of capitals of states I'd write

Alabama Montgomery
Alaska Juneau
Arizona Phoenix
Arkansas Little Rock
California Sacramento

do this in groups of 3-5 and put the groups together after you've mastered a new group.

Repetition and multiple sensory input is the key. This gives you the visual, audio, and touch sensory pathways. You see what you're writing, you hear yourself say it, and you feel the word you're writing on the paper.

After that, repetition and review are the keys. Each time, start with what you've already covered and drill what you miss the same way.

Oh, and it doesn't work to do it while the football game is on. I've tried. :slight_smile:

Okay def get what you're saying, and it sounds good. Should this be done in flashcard form or just on paper going down in a list?

HHAHAHA that is how I always study! Even if it is on mute? = )

I just draw a huge concept map, put the definitions where they belong, and try to understand the connections between them (This may not be applicable)

Bonus points if it's a field that allows pretty pictures (Cell structures, which I am studying now)

Haven't tried on mute but part of the idea is to make what you're writing your only focus.

I have a spiral notebook I just keep filling with writing.

I also use flashcards to review vocabulary words but the writing technique to pound it into my head.

My page will look something like this