How to Consult With a Trainer?

I am going to set up the consult with a personal trainer. I have my husband to come with me and I really trust his imput but I think that I could benefit from having tips from more than on person. So what do I look for in a trainer.

So far my husband has introduced me to The Poliquin Principles by Charles Poliquin and to The Book of Muscle by Ian King and Lou Schuler. The Book of Muscle has a beginner routine section that looks to be good so would it be acceptabe to take those books in and explain that Im looking to be trained for gains and goals of muscle strengh and weight loss not for warm fuzzies and high rep low weight “toning”.

What do I ask a trainer to really know if his principles of training fall into my needs and wants if I am still learning my needs and wants.

I need to gain muscle mass, strengh, and definition. I need to lose fat and intimidation of the gym. Any suggestions are welcome. Thanks Mechelle

Mechelle

I think that it’s a good decision that you see a trainer, if you feel that you would like other opinions, and options with your workouts. There are so many routines, and resources available.

Things that I would look for in a trainer are:

1. Qualifications; Degrees, specialty training knowledge etc. (Not always necessary, but great for peace of mind, and insurance issues)

2. Personability. You are going to be spending a lot of time with this person. Make sure that you’ll be able to handle it.

3. Physical fitness. If they can’t keep themselves in shape…forget about it!

There are also things that you need to tell your trainer, in-order to help them out.

1. Be specific! Don’t say, “I want to lose 20 lbs”. Say, " I would like to gain muscle mass, and definition in these areas, while reducing the circumference of these areas…you get the idea.

2. Plan ahead! Find out what times you can meet with him/her. If he/she’s always booked, or in school, then you might want to try someone else.