T Nation

How to Break Through Stagnant Fat Loss Progress?

Hey Guys,

I was curious as to thoughts on the right amount of calories I should be eating, macronutrient breakdown, and workout/cardio frequency for fat loss. I am 5’11 about 200 pounds with a conservative 18-19% BF estimate. I would like to be about 185 and sub 15%. I am currently eating 2,750 calories with 241P, 275C, 76F

I have been training seriously now for about 4 years and due to certain setbacks like surgery I feel that I have been stagnant in my process over that time. Almost like I have been going back and forth between fat loss and building muscle, without any progress either way. I am not overly fat by any means, but I definitely don’t have the ripped physique I am looking for. I have done countless research on both training on nutrition and wanted to see what you guys thought. My research in helpful but I also feel it is somewhat counter productive as I will change my plan or diet every few weeks. My questions were:

1. What is the proper amount of calories I should be consuming to maintain (or even build muscle/strength) while trying to get shredded. With that what would a good macro breakdown look like. Especially protein as I have heard countless theories on the right amount. Also, I feel like my calories may be too high for fat loss, but I am concerned about metabolic damage and would obviously like to consume the highest amount of calories while still burning fat.

2. Is training heavy with compound movements 4 days a week, and lighter but still tough on the body 2 days a week too much? After reading about metabolic damage and was afraid that was happening to me, I kept workouts the same Monday- Saturday, cut back on HIIT cardio to only twice a week and bumped my calories from 2500 to 2750, while increasing carbs.

I appreciate any help you guys can provide as I would like to finally breakthrough this rut I have been in and see significant progress.

Thank you in advance