T Nation

How to Break Sticking Point in Chin-Up?

Last week I went for a 1.5xBW chinup which would've been a PR. I didn't quite make it, getting about 3/4 of the way up. So my questions are: what is my weakness in the chinup, and how do I get past my sticking point?

Thanks for any help.

Get stronger

Uh, that didn't help.

try some full rom rows?

the top quarter is always gonna be the hardest for most people. Probably just too much weight simply.

I've been doing rows in the 5x5 program I'm on and have managed to bump up my PR a few lbs. But if you think they'll help I'll hit them harder.

What is the failing muscle in the top quarter - the biceps?

I'm no expert in biomechanics but it seems to me like it would be biceps and mid-upper back (rhomboids, lower traps, etc.)

wait now that i think of it we need to define chin up. I'm thinking of a pronated, wide grip. supinated close grip is another story (i call these pull ups).

Actually, that's backwards. Close supinated grip = chinups.

perhaps try to push your head back could help.
as if you are trying to do dorian yates barbell row with the chin bar ...

Get your speed up. Next time you do BW chins, do them all from a dead hang and explode out of the bottom.

Chins against bands. Overload the top for a little while. Or against bands with weight. For example I sometimes use a dip belt with weight on it and then attach bands to my lifting belt from the safety pins in the power rack and then do my chin ups.

I would try heavy iso holds and eccentrics. Honestly I have no idea if that would work though.

I did a few weeks of super heavy horizontal shrugs with a strap one handed and my lockout improved a lot.