T Nation

How To Be Confident With Heavy Weights

When testing 1rm and coach or friends say “add more” something inside me tells me “ok i try” or “i hope i can do this”. I would like to be more confident and just think “fuck it i will do it”… i know this might sound stupid but as a beginner i still need to build that mindset. I am not afraid of hurting myself because i have spotters but not trusting myself for something i am might be capable of is something i want to get rid of.
I would like to know from experienced lifters how they approach maxing out or attempting weights they never lifted with more self confidence. Do you have rituals or something like that?
Thanks in advance

Part of powerlifting is learning how to get under a ridiculous weight when every fiber in your being says “no don’t do it.” Sometimes the fear of getting crushed can be a great motivator in hitting that squat PR. That being said, don’t be a moron and add 50 lbs to the bar when you barely finished that last rep. Be smart and push your limits.

Also, check what you got between your legs and stop being a pussy. Hows that?

I have this idea that it takes a while to learn what heavy actually means. I don’t mean it terms of a certain amount of weight, but the feeling. It took me maybe two years to learn it.

So, in answer to your question, you don’t know what heavy feels like yet - or you probably don’t - and you aren’t going to learn the mindset you’re referring to until you know what heavy means. If you get under a heavy weight just hoping you’ll get it or thinking about trying I can guarantee you won’t make the lift. Likewise, if you aren’t afraid of getting hurt, you aren’t even close to maxing out. Spotters don’t mean too much when you’re maxing, because they won’t always catch it in time.