T Nation

How Should I Train For These Goals?

Vert Jump/Sprints/Endurance + Strength Training

Hey, guys. I'm very new to strength training (played sports ~10 years but lifted weights without a coherent train of thought). I was wondering whether it would be possible to get strong (deadlifting 500 lbs for reps) while maintaining a high level of conditioning for sports. I play ultimate frisbee at d1 college level (100% serious) so I need to be able run for upwards of an hour while maintaining pace and intensity but also have that explosiveness to make a 60 yard run down the field at max speed and then jump 35" into the air to catch the disc over everybody else.

I'm 6' 9", 210 lbs. Pretty scrawny overall but relatively lean. I would like to get up to around 230-240 lbs with a relatively low bf% (<10%). My body's essentially a metabolic foundry. I eat ~5000 calories a day and get in the range of 350-400g protein.

Basic compound lifts for reference:
315 dl for reps (8 sets of 3 reps), 365 1RM
275 front squat (3 sets 3 reps [max])

Here's the program I've been following for strength training: ironandsoul.com/2011/03/franks-40inch-vertical-workout-program/

My main question is what sort of cardio would you suggest to achieve my goals? I would imagine some sort of long distance/endurance training on off days seeing as how explosiveness and a higher vert should come from doing heavy squats as well as plyometrics once I get into the VJB training.