T Nation

How Should a Beginner Bodybuilder Bench Press?

For a beginner bodybuilder, when it comes to bench press, should I do all the “pack the shoulders, arch the back, use leg drive, use wide grip, etc” that powerlifters use, or should I not do those because they’ll prevent me from gaining mass, particularly in the pecs, or what?

Are you an experienced lifter getting into bodybuilding, or a beginner lifter that may want to do a bodybuilding competition in the future?

I’m a beginner lifter who wants to be a natural, non-competitive bodybuilder, preferably with a home gym. If it helps, I am almost 15 and I began weightlifting right when I turned 14, but I haven’t been able to do anything since December because of non-serious shoulder problems

Opinion:

Don’t use a wide grip.

But do use your legs to get tight and stable on the bench. Arch your Upper back and pack your shoulders to keep your chest up and keep the stress off your front delts.

This video is long and they do crazy things with bands and chains and weird sets/reps. But the powerlifter and the physique dude use really similar grip width, leg drive/arch and bar path when benching.

Then I would say just learn how to bench press. I wouldn’t exaggerate the style powerlifters use for competition, but you definitely want to pack your shoulders and get your legs set.

Don’t stress about a magical version emphasizing something specific - maybe down the road when you’re defending your Olympia title that will matter.

I haven’t watched the video @FlatsFarmer linked, but it’s likely good. I think, for me, I had to learn the most uncomfortable part of the bench is getting into position - in case that gives a hint on the learning curve there

Entered the thread just to say “bench in whatever way feels comfortable and safe for your shoulders” as a generic advice, but given your age and reading this:

it’s more than a generic advice - bench in whatever way feels comfortable and safe for your shoulders, period.