T Nation

How Often Do You Exercise?

A recurring question, where Dr Darden has recommended 1-3 days a week, less as you progress and become more experienced.

So, where are you related to this? Are you, like me, not in comfort excercising more than every 3-4th day (yet wanting to keep momentum at least twice a week)? Or - do you excercise more than recommended by the HIT-community? Combination of routines? Aerobic activities? Please tell us your story here!

I’ve been lifting weights for 21 years and I exercise every day.

Perhaps, one day, I will be more experienced.

10 Likes

Are we talking lifting specifically? I sometimes lift as much as 7 days a week, but that’s short periods. My sweet spot seems to be 4 or 5 days, depending what I’m doing.

I try to do some firm of exercise every day all the time, if we’re also including aerobic work in our definition. I won’t count a leisurely stroll, but I’ll definitely count fast walks if there’s hills!

I normally lift weights 5-6 times per wek…sometimes more if I decide to split my work-out into 2 sessions, I normally do cardio every other day roughly.

I almost always do some kind of exercise everdyday, even if all I do is go for a long walk or something low intensity.

Weights 3-4 times a week, cardio separately or together about the same.

I like 4 days a week.

1 Like

I exercise “when I can”, but with a totally free schedule I’d exercise in some form 6 days a week, either cardio or conditioning or lifting. How those days break down would depend on the intensity and volume of the lifting.

I “lift” 4 days a week (2 upper, 2 lower), 1 day for conditioning (30-40 min higher intensity), 1 easy day, and 1 off day

• long walks every day, but those don’t count

Theres been times where all i can do is 2 days a week and theres been times where i can train as much as i want. In general i like lifting 4 or 5 days a week, and incorporate some cardio and flexibility work around that.

5 days/week here.