T Nation

How Much Sorness Is Good?

Hi guys

I have been training for about two years now, except for 6 months I did nearly nothing (apart from physio) because of a shoulder injury.

I have always liked the feeling of soreness (or DOMS like some people call it) that you get the next day after a good workout. I mean a little bit of soreness and not the nasty soreness that comes from not warming up or the pain from an injury.

The problem is that I'm finding it ever more difficult to get that feeling and I don't know whether it means Im doing something wrong or maybe because you really arent suppossed to be sored

I train 3 times a week (sometimes in a lucky week i can squezee 4 workouts). I change my exercises every 4 or 5 weeks to keep things interesting but also because is only when Im doing an exercise for the first time ever (or the first time after not having used said exercise for a while)that I get the sought after soreness.

I only use freeweights because I never liked the feeling from the machines and now that i quit the gym and train at home even more so (I dont have machines at home obviously). I also make sure Im training hard and intense to make sure Im not simply wasting my time. Still, I seldom get sored the next day!

What am I doing wrong with regards to training? or maybe I'm wrong by being obsessed with the soreness?, is only that I dont have that much time to exercise so when i do it i wanna be reassured that I'm giving it my best shot and the soreness was kind of reassuring that at least Im working hard. Maybe you are not suppossed to get sored?

I miss that pain, please advice me

Thanks