How Much Should I Lose?

I want to gain size and strength properly, but my bf % is too high and makes me feel like shit. Can I get an estimate and how many pounds should I lose before I try to gain? I’m 160lbs 5’10"

hmmm, do you have any lifting experience? if you are straight up new to the game, i’d just lift weights and clean up your diet. newb gains are a once in a lifetime opportunity, exploit it. don’t worry about losing weight, just put on some muscle.

think about it, let’s say you lose 10-15lbs. that puts you at 145-150lbs at 5’10". thats skin and bones brotha.

I have some lifting experience. But I’d rather get to about 10%bf before trying to gain, otherwise I’m afraid I’ll flip flop around on my diet from still thinking I’m fat enough as it is.

i dont get it?
what do you mean by flip flop? either way youre going to have to clean up your diet. if you think you wont flip flop on a calorie deficient diet, youre wrong. especially with that attitude.

what im suggesting is eating a lot of healthy foods and working toward gaining muscle.

either way, you’re going to have to eat healthy foods. how you look at the end will be much different depending on whether you take my advice or follow your own.

but i digress, if you think im offering you bad advice, i will just answer the question in your OP.

your probably need to lose 10lbs but who knows. i hear the camera adds 10 lbs so maybe youre just perfect as is.

EAT CLEAN and START LIFTING!

Just eat as you feel is necessary if you’ll be too lazy to count macros/calories, but DON’T EAT CRAP. Like actionboy said, newb gains will let you GAIN muscle AND LOSE fat at the same time (aka recomp your body).

[quote]mbv8 wrote:
EAT CLEAN and START LIFTING!

Just eat as you feel is necessary if you’ll be too lazy to count macros/calories, but DON’T EAT CRAP. Like actionboy said, newb gains will let you GAIN muscle AND LOSE fat at the same time (aka recomp your body). [/quote]