How Much Running Is Too Much?

I’ve been lifting weights for 4 years, but haven’t done much aerobic exercise (maybe 10 mins after my regular workout). I’m happy with the goals I’ve achieved so far.

I have some friends that want to do a relay marathon at the end of the year, where we each run 5 miles. Our target is to do the 5 miles in 40 minutes.

My question is: would participating in this sabotage my goals? I don’t want to cut back on my weight lifting, so if I start running 30-45 mins 3x week on top of my regular workouts, will my muscles catabolize?

Based on your profile you seem to have a runners build. Unless you are really trying to bulk I think you could run without setting yourself back.

Make sure you eat enough.

Most of the big guys are against running because they are not good at it and it hurts their joints.

Aerobic exercise makes you live longer.

[quote]Zap Branigan wrote:
Based on your profile you seem to have a runners build. Unless you are really trying to bulk I think you could run without setting yourself back.[/quote]

True.

False.

[quote]CaliforniaLaw wrote:
Zap Branigan wrote:

Most of the big guys are against running because they are not good at it and it hurts their joints.

False.
[/quote]

What is false?

Big guys are not good at distance running?

Distance running hurts big guys joints?

Please enlighten me with your wisdom.

[/quote]

You wrote: “Most of the big guys are against running because they are not good at it and it hurts their joints.”

Big guys don’t run because running doesn’t help big guys stay big and strong.

I sprint on a treadmill for a few minutes after each workout. There’s no way I could long distance run after squats or deadlifts.

I do 20 minutes after working out on the stair master. Doesnt hurt my joints as much as the treadmill.

[quote]SkinnySwimmer wrote:
Aerobic exercise makes you live longer. [/quote]

Sure, just like Jim Fixx.

[/quote]