How Much Rest Is too Much Rest?

The past couple programs i have been receiving diminishing returns. Throughout my current program, based off the advice of others, i have decided to take a rest day in between every training session. As a uni student i stay up very late but due to my class schedule i still manage to get sleep ranging from 6-8 hours. Personally, i do not see why having 4 rest days per training week (this training week is obviously based on an 8-day cycle in this sense) would be problematic for gains. However, sometimes i question if im using this rest day for actual rest or laziness. What do you guys think?

Being lazy is rest from your body’s perspective. It doesn’t give a shit what you’re doing as long as you aren’t lifting, at least from my experience.

Resting every other day is a great way for me to ensure that I can go balls to the wall every time I train, although I generally go two on - one off. Much better than going 5 on - 1 off. Whatever works, keep doing that.

1 Like

How much rest is too much rest?

Technically anymore than you need to recover from the workload you’ve done short term e.g. workout to workout and long term week to week as fatigue accumulates.

Would rather rest more and deload before I really need it then accumulate excessive fatigue, under recover workout to workout and ultimately/overall progress slower or stall out.

Gains are made by SRA stimulus recovery adaption. Recovery/rest is as important as the stimulus to making gains. Doing more will give you more gains if you can recover from it. Replacing rest with work is risking your gains.

1 Like

That’s kinds how it works but what do you call diminishing?

I don’t know if anybody else feels the same way, but I think a week long deload for beginners and intermediate lifters are useless and may hamper progress in long run

1 Like