T Nation

How Much Neurological Fatigue to Accept in a Strength-Building Program?

I’m new to trying to build strength and am wondering how much neurological fatigue to accept in a program. If it helps, I’m a 2B with 1RMs in the low- to mid-intermdiate range.

I’ve been ramping up to my 3RM and 5RM in the Big 4 on a three-day a week program (ABC, DAB, CDA, BCD) and then taking a deload week. By the fourth week, what was my 5RM in week one is now my 3RM. After the deload week, though, I can demonstrate more strength than the previous cycle. So, all good there.

Here are my questions. In terms of neurological profiling and non-competitive lifting, when is it better to focus on demonstrating strength vs. building strength? Or is it just a matter of rotating between both types of training over the long run?

Thanks for any help.

Type 2B can’t do alot of neurological work and heavy strenght work ! so if your able to progress with this approach 3x a week and enought of rest day i suggest you to continue like that !

Thanks, bigmax. Yeah, I knew 2Bs can’t handle the heavy stuff for long, which is why I thought sticking to a 5RM would stave off the worst of the fatigue. Guess I was wrong!

I just don’t know whether the amount of fatigue I’m experiencing is an expected and acceptable cost of lifting heavy or whether it’s detrimental in the long run.

I especially want to know because I’ve been surprised how much I’ve enjoyed the (relatively) low rep work and want to keep going with it.

I would say that if you keep progressing well then… But there are ways to enjoy low heavy rep that can be less draining like for instance strength skill (8 x 3 at a lower weight)

That’s kind of what I was thinking, too, aldebaran. I’m happy to have some low quality workouts if it’s just a part of the process. Just want to know whether it has to happen in order to increase strength or if it actually limits increases. This is new territory for me since I’ve always done higher rep stuff.