T Nation

How Much Do You Spend?

Hi everyone.

I am a college student, but am getting married and moving off campus in a month. So I finally have to start buying my own food (since I lived off of my parents and the college cafeteria all my life). I was just wondering how much you guys spend per day/week/month or whatever on food and supplements.

I have to start budgeting somewhere, and I realize I will spend more money than the average joe, so I am wondering how much you guys justify spending to know a little bit what to expect.

Thanks.

$200 for a family of 5 every two weeks - let’s just say buying protein powder is like Christmas

Just myself, I get by on about $60/week for food. Supplements…couple tubs of protein powder a month on average. Keep in mind my food budget is pretty much the basics. Stuff like fresh salmon, shrimp, steak, etc is a luxury. Unfortunately.

$100 a week for me and I’m at school with a meal plan. It is a bitch.

Rico- Where do you get the money for all that? I was hoping to get by around $60-75 a week.

Yeah I would say around 40-50bucks/wk for all the fresh stuff such as fruits and veggies, as well as cottage cheese, tuna, eggs.

Usually best to buy your ground beef in bulk and freeze it. I find that these days I don’t even bother buying chicken. Here in Ontario, shit is crazy expensive - so instead I buy ground turkey. Which is leaner, and less expensive.

Usually try and grab a 5pound tub of casein based protein for breakfast/bed meals, then order online for my bcaa’s/whey isolate and fish caps.

Yah, I really want to be able to justify buying Metabolic Drive. I have always been too cheap to shell out the cash, even though I knew it was a fair price. But on the buy three get one free I decided to splurge a little and order a tub with one of my freebies. And like I knew it would be its dynamite. I am really trying to justify a tub per two weeks of the stuff. I guess thats the idea this thread stems from.