How much bloody protein?

I’ve read several articles on T-mag where all have contradictory ideas about protein consumption. I’m 167lb 16%BF trying to bulk up to about 185lb. I have already put on about 3lb in the past two weeks since I started lifting again (i was on a 5-month break :slight_smile:
Now, I want now to make sure to put on as little fat as possible. I don’t want to take “supplements” other than “pure creatine” and “whey protein”, so I’m left with my diet and workout to make me reach my goal.
The question is simply this: How much bloody protein do i need to take to bulk up? Some articles say 1.5g/lb (250g a day!), which seems ridiculous to me, but correct me if I’m wrong. Another article I read here says that anything over 0.8g/lb (135g a day) is a waste and won’t be absorbed by your body.
What the HELL? If that 0.8g/lb is a scientific fact, why does everyone on here say that 1.5g/lb is the way to go? Please, just give me a number to start from. Thanks in advance.

Sometimes, it’s just about calories. But often there is a lot of “fine-tuning” that needs to be done. Types of foods. Timing of foods. Etc.

Most people really started seeing improvements when they really upped their protein. Is the science 100% on their side? No. But it really worked for them.

You theoretically don’t “need” that much protein. Your body can only assimilate so much protein per day, and it doesn’t retain very much (quantity wise) no matter what you’re doing. A pound of muscle is nowhere near a pound of protein. But the retention seems to go up if the amount consumed increases.

1g per pound is a really good starting point, and learning to get that much in is tough enough. Start there. Consume enough food to grow. If you’re gaining too much fat, start transferring carb grams to protein grams.