How Long Will it Take?

Hi all.

I’ve been lifting for just over 2 years. I’ve gone from 78kg to 106kg, and have managed the following lifts totally raw and drug free.

Bench: 145kg
Squat: 205kg
Deadlift: 230kg
Clean & Jerk: 117.5kg
Push Press: 120kg

I have just started proper olympic lifting training at a club with commonwealth medal winning coaches. Currently 3 days a week.

Now my question is with my current level of strength how long should it take for me to achive a 140kg clean and jerk and a 100kg snatch?

Thanks

Nick

Who cares? It is honestly not an important question, and no one can give you ‘the right’ answer. You are very strong, and as long as you keep practicing the lifts and go heavy, you’ll get those numbers.

I care.

If its going to take me 2-3 years honestly I wont dedicate as much time to it and will continue to simply enjoy it occasionally. But if 6-12 months is a realistic timeframe I will stick with the new club and 3 sessions a week.

The reason I ask is I’m switching gyms and training styles and O lifting is very different to what I’m use to. I cant get results with simply brute strength and effort, the subtlties and technical aspects of the O lifts can be frustrating. I’m not enjoying it as much as my previous training. If it will take years to attain the 100/140 level then honestly I will ditch it. Hench my question.

you have WAY more then enough strength, i have snatched 115 and 137.5 as a 94 Junior lifer (not crazy by any standards) but I can only squat 165, front squat 150, and i would be lucky to bench 115. just work on your technique and be patient and diligent. If you stress about it to much it wont happen, but with strength like yours it should not take long at all!!

dude how can u push press 120 and only clean and jerk 117.5?

i dont think it will take u that long. the first time i tried snatches i could do 70kg and my other lifts arnt as high as yours except the deadlift