How Long Will It Take Me to Squat 500 Pounds?

Hi guys.

I was wondering… How long will it take me to squat 500?

I’m not talking about powerlifting squats though. I was talking about something like this:

I had a 20-pound PR in one week. I used to only squat 345 last week, and today I did 365, to my surprise.

As far as my background is concerned, I’ve been lifting on and off for the past ten years. I used to squat 405 with a wide stance, low bar, 8 years ago. I also used to front squat 305 pounds, ATG, 5 years ago.

Thanks in advance.

I don’t know. A year? Two years? I’d say two years is realistic assuming you work on improving your technique, train consistently and don’t get hurt.

Not sure what the difference is between that and a PL squat though. I’ve seen plenty similar squats at every meet I’ve been at, apart from the pause. Is that what you mean, paused? Then train paused.

To MarkKO…

It’s the fact that I pause and the fact that it’s full range of motion at a narrow stance, with the bar on my traps instead of my shoulder blades.

Why the change to high bar narrow stance squats, are you planning some olympic lifting.

Who knows?Pick a training style,follow it,make adjustments as you move forward and you’ll most likely get there
I think as MarkKO said,2 years is a realistic assumption

1 Like

As long as it takes to squat 500?

3 Likes

Impossible question to answer.

If you can commit to juicing up and eating an entire pizza every night for dinner you will have it in 12 weeks.

5 Likes

Depends on every individual , but if you’re really serious about it , consider the 100 straight squatting days that T-Nation posted yesterday. Also , why are you gripping the bar like this ?

I agree with that pizza statement. By the fourth day I feel as strong as ever

2 Likes

Not sure what it is, but I always feel supercharged if I eat pizza before squatting. Same for cheeseburgers and deadlifts. Haven’t found the superfood for benching yet…

3 Likes