T Nation

How Long to Cut Without a Break?

I've been cutting for nearly 3 months now (which must be ~14 weeks), but I'm a little worried about the effects long-term cutting without a break might be. Would it be the best course of action, for the health of my metabolism and to avoid plateauing, to have a period of eating at maintenance and to then launch back into dieting? If so, how long?

Depends. On a lot.

What's your current weight and what did you weigh three months ago?

How tall are you? How much muscle do you currently have?

How are you eating (total calories, fat, carbs, and protein)?

How are you training? Are you still seeing progress in the gym?

Some coaches have made a valid case for occasional diet breaks (whether it's strategic cheat days or a full week or two of non-dieting), while other coaches successfully program longer-term diets.

Basically, it comes down to monitoring the results you are or aren't seeing, and adjusting things accordingly.

Currently 178, weighed 187 three months ago. I'm 5 foot 10 tall, body stat says 11% BF.

I'm eating 2,600 cals on trainig days, not massively restricting carbs but keeping them low GI and high fibre, aiming for around 200g protein a day, splitting meals up into 5-6 a day with pre-, peri and post- workout whey/dextrose.

Training-wise, I'm on the same plan as the bulk prior to the cut, doing 2-3 weight sessions a week and a couple of sprint sessions on separate days (100m or 75m usually). The weights have still been increasing slightly throughout the cut and have more or less plateau'd now, but certainly not lost any strength during the cut.

The weight loss is slowing down though, from 0.75-1 lb a week in the first month to 0.5 lbs a week being an excellent week. I don't feel lethargic, de-motivated or fatigued, but I don't want to shoot myself in the foot either.

Is sprinting the only non-weight training exercise you're getting?

Apart from daily walking, around 40-45 mins.