T Nation

How Long to Bulk?

Hey,

I am just wondering how long I should bulk? I have just started working out about 2 months ago and have been eating well but not really cramming it down.

I am 6’1" 185 lbs. I am planning on starting to bulk but I don’t know if I should go to a particular number (210 lbs lets say) or if I should go for a particular amount of time. And if it was to be a particular amount of time, then what, 5 months? 10 months?

I’m new to all this and just not sure of the details. Thanks for your responses in advance.

[quote]AggieJohn wrote:
Hey,

I am just wondering how long I should bulk? I have just started working out about 2 months ago and have been eating well but not really cramming it down.

I am 6’1" 185 lbs. I am planning on starting to bulk but I don’t know if I should go to a particular number (210 lbs lets say) or if I should go for a particular amount of time. And if it was to be a particular amount of time, then what, 5 months? 10 months?

I’m new to all this and just not sure of the details. Thanks for your responses in advance.[/quote]

i think it would take less than 5 monthes to reach 210 pounds. for example if you gained 2 pounds per week that would only take 3 monthes.

[quote]redsox348984 wrote:

i think it would take less than 5 monthes to reach 210 pounds. for example if you gained 2 pounds per week that would only take 3 monthes.[/quote]

But those gains are based on the result you are getting. I get the feeling there are a lot of guys who are half assing it in the gym and then trying to compensate for it by eating. I would bet less than half the guys talking about “bulking” are training hard enough to justify it.

[quote]Professor X wrote:
redsox348984 wrote:

i think it would take less than 5 monthes to reach 210 pounds. for example if you gained 2 pounds per week that would only take 3 monthes.