T Nation

How long have you been lifting?

I was wondering after reading the posts about how much each person could lift, how long have you been lifting? How many years have you devoted to the iron catherdral? The first time I lifted was when I was 12 years old. I did it for almost a year. Gave up and had been on an off every few years till I hit 23. Ive been lifting for two straight years. Hardcore the last year and nothing is going to make me stop from lifting. Its in me for good. That and I spent over 1 G in equipment for my home lol.

I lifted when I was in my late teens and didn’t lift at all through my 20s (hiked and jogged during this period). I started lifting again 3 years ago but didn’t get serious until one year ago. When I started back up (3 years ago), I could only bench the olymp. bar with 50lbs on it–it was embarassing. I plateaued for a while (benching 135 lbs) since my only goal at that time was to stay fit and relatively toned. When I decided to get serious (last Oct), I started going to the gym 6 days a week with a focus on all body parts (except legs since my legs had always been big from my sprinting days in highschool). I also started a disciplined and adequate nutrition program. That’s when the gains in strength and size began.

I have been lifting for about 1.5 year and I am currently training for my very first powerlifting competition. Now that I have changed my lifestyle from being a lazy bastard and somewhat over weight, I could never go back to that. The lifting is in my blood and soul.

8 years, though the first two were rather shitty, ie upper body only

25 years.