T Nation

How Is My Routine

I have been training seriously for six months now and a couple of months ago I switched my routine from full body 3 times a week to a split that looks like this:

Monday - Back

T-bar Rows
Rack Pulls
Lat pulldown
Seated Rows

Tuesday - Chest

Flat Bench Press
Incline Bench Press
Decline Bench Press
Standing Fly

Wednesday - Legs

Front Squats
Lunges
Leg Press
Good Mornings
calf Press
Seated Calf Press

Thursday - Biceps / Triceps

Curls
Hammer Curls
Cable Curls
Preacher Curls

lying Triceps Extensions
One arm triceps extensions
Pushdown
One arm triceps pushdown

Friday - Shoulders

Lateral Raises
Bent Over Lateral Raises
Cuban Press
Face Pulls
Shrugs
Farmer Walks

Set 1 x 10
1 x 8
1 x 6
1 x 4
Increasing the weight on each set.

What do you guys think? I go easy on my shoulders and biceps because I get a sharp pain in my left shoulder when doing lateral raises and a similar pain in my forearm when doing preacher curls. Any idea what this might be?

My goals are to get strong and as big as Stan Mcquay.

Are you still making progress?

I would try to switch up your routine more often than it sounds like you are, every 4-6 weeks maybe. Where are the deadlifts? I started doing them about 8 months ago and my back started to grow like crazy.

If you feel like you have a solid base I would check out OVT for your next program, pretty intense but I’ve had success with it.

Do what you want, but a split is the last thing you need right now, being a beginner. If you insist on the split, I’d move rack pulls to the front on back day, and you don’t really need to do both the seated row and and the T-bar row on the same day. If you do the rack pulls with any intensity, you’ll probably be pretty wiped after them, so no need putting in a bunch of unnecessary stuff. When I deadlift, a lot of the time it’s the only thing I do that day.