How Important Are Multis?

I eat a pretty healthy diet, HEAPS of veggies with every meal, flaxseed, avocado, sweet potato, broccoli, greens, yogurt, blueberries blah blah blah the works.

So… I’m wondering if I’m so eating so much of all these nutrient packed stuff, do I really need to waste money on Multivitamins? I’ve heard as well that too much vitamin A can be bad and I eat heaps of sweet potato, plus I’m sure I get enough vitamin C from oranges. As for the rest, I’m pretty sure my diet covers them all.

Im no expert but Ive heard/read that due to over-farming and various other reasons the soil used today has much less nutrients than even 20-30 years ago. This means crops that have less vits and minerals.

What I do is buy a good strong multi but only take half a day.

I work as a personal trainer at 24 hour fitness and I know they have a line of multivitamins (APEX is the company) engineered precisely for people with your dilemma. They have different categories of multi’s based on an individual’s diet. They have multi’s for vegetarians, people who consume alot of protein, as well as a multi for balanced diet individuals.

In any case, you should still take a multi as some nutrients are lost in the digestive process as well as when you cook the foods. I know the stigma attached to corporate gyms such as 24 hour fitness (sometimes it sucks being a peon in such a big corp!), but I know for a fact that APEX is totally legit when it comes to research and effectiveness. They are one of a very few number of PHARMACEUTICAL companies that ALSO produces supplements and in doing so are regulated by the FDA. So whatever it says on the label is what you get and at pharmaceutical grade quality. I personally love APEX supplements although I am a huge fan of Biotest. Why doesn’t Biotest make a multivitamin?

I figure a multi is like insurance- most of the time you don’t need it, but it is still a good thing to have just in case.