How Impoirtant Is Rest, Really?

I’ve been lifting pretty religiously for about 7 years now. I tend to go 5-6 days a week, and this has been the case for the majority of that 7 years. Now I have changed things from time to time, I used to weigh about 230 and went straight for the mass look, but due to lower back problems, I had to cut that weight back a lot and now weigh 210.

With all of that being said, I have spent the most of my 7 years lifting almost every single day fighting through soreness, fatigue, and even injury just to make it to the gym. The biggest reason I do this is because it makes me happy, its an hour of a half where nothing matters but putting up weight, it’s great.

Recently I’ve started thinking what if I did a different type of weight lifting scheme, rather then go 5-6, sometimes 7 days a week, would it make that big of a difference as far as growth and size goes if i went 2 on 1 off 2 on 2 off or a scheme such as that? Let me get some feed back here.

If something is working for you then there is no reason to change it, but judging by your post if you are considering something else then maybe the results aren’t what you are used to or expect, am I on the right track?

More rest days for me is important because of the nature of training I do, 1/2 body each time MWF. Trying to up that frequency any further would run me into the ground. If you split the body 3-5 ways then you will obviously need more sessions in the gym and have less days totally off. So what does your current training look like structure wish, number of exercises, sets, do you train to failure/beyond etc?

I pretty much play my sessions by ear and base them on what my body is telling me to do. I can give you an example of what I think this week will look like.

Sunday I did compound movements, front squat, DL’s, DB clean and press and a little bit of back.

Monday I did all arms.

Today I will probably start off doing some back squats and then move into chest.