How Good is the ROI on a Home Gym for a College Student

I keep thinking about investing in a home gym. Obviously not planning on making a Super Training gym in my home but the essentials: power rack, barbell, plates, a machine or two.

Overall a home gym set up with just the basics with the cheapest yet efficient equipment as possible might be a grand at least and this isn’t including a machine. Would this be a better investment than paying monthly for a gym which can add up to 600 dollars a year?

2 Likes

If you can afford it & have enough space I say go for it! It’s basically a more or less a one-off investment which is going to seem super-cheap in the long run.

4 Likes

I’ve been adding to our home gym for over 15 years and have no regrets. I will join a gym a few months during the winter because it’s cold and to remind myself how nice it is to have my own gym.
If you shop around a lot of places offer free shipping on orders over $XXX. I even had a sporting goods chain cut me a break on weights because I bought so much. If I remember right I got all of my dumbbells for .37 cents a lb.

4 Likes

The answer, of course, is that it depends on your specific circumstances.

As a college student, I’d have thought that you might have access to a gym at your school for no cost, but there may be various reasons why that is undesirable.

Moving beyond the college years, though, here are the considerations for whether a home gym is worth the ROI for a given person:

1. Are you the sort of person that benefits from having other people around while you work out, or do you prefer quiet solitude?