T Nation

How Fast to Gain?

Hey guys,

I started lifting 25 months ago. I was pathetically weak at the time:

5’11", 19 y.o., 173 lbs.
Max chins: 1
Max dips: 2
Struggled to bench press 95 lbs for 4 x 10

I mention this because despite the fact that my current stats are horribly unimpressive by T-Nation standards, I have made improvements:

21 y.o., 180 lbs

Dips, 4 x 10
Chins 12, Squat ~261 [i never test this], DL 330, BP 220

I was 193 lbs. at one point but certain life events have dropped me down to my current weight, albeit leaner than I was.

My training consistency wasn’t perfect over the last two years (I would take 3 weeks off every 3 months for exams etc, I went to South America for 3 months etc.) Also, I basically thought anyone who was anal enough to count daily calories probably had a psychiatric issue.

Both these problems are fixed now. I’ve maintained an excellent consistency for the past few months and have kept track of my calories for the past 3 weeks. I plan to start a counter-culture ‘summer bulk’ on Monday. I calculated my requirements at 3200. So I plan to do 5 meals/day x 750-800 calories/meal diet for 3800-4000 calories a day.

Basically, the next 3 months of my schedule are quite light so I’m sure I can maintain consistency until at least September (at which point I will have to move to a different city every 3 weeks for schooling.) Since I only have these 3 months where I know I can give it 100% I really want a set-in-stone goal to work towards.

What do you guys think is a reasonable set of weight gain / strength gain goals to try and pull off in this time? I like 20 lbs. of weight gain because it, itself, is a round number but also would leave me at 200 lbs. which would be a great psychological barrier to break. But is that too aggressive? Would shooting for 5 lbs/month be more reasonable?