How Does My Bloodwork Look?

Hi guys! I’ve just had my bloodwork done and I’d like some advice. Some info about myself: I’m a 38 male, 78KG (172 pounds) and 1.86m (6’1").

I’ve been feeling a bit low mentally for 6-9 months now, not very motivated to do things and I feel tired more often than I’d like to. Libido is also low. I made a few changes to my lifestyle and that has worked somewhat, but I still don’t feel like I’m on top of my game. I’ve been training consistently 3 times a week for a couple of years now. I’ve also stopped drinking alcohol in December last year as it started to make me feel depressed. I’ve always had a healthy diet, but since January I’ve cut out almost all junk. I’ve lost 10 pounds of weight since then. It all helped, just not as much as I’d hope.

My lab results were:
Total T: 12.3 nmol/L (8.64 - 29.00)
Free T: 0.165 nmol/l (> 0.125)
SHBG: 52.4 nmol/l (18.3 - 54.1)
Estrogen: 40.7 pmol/l (41.5 - 158.5)

I will talk to an internist next week, but as it all falls within normal ranges (except estrogen) they probably won’t help me with TRT.

Any input is appreciated. Thanks!

I’m afraid you’re correct. Given your history and those lab results, you are a candidate for TRT.

First congrats on dropping the booze. I did the same in September and it changed my life completely. Second, how is your sleep and your caloric input? Thirdly, how is your thyroid?

Your lifestyle changes should be reflected in your labs by now, so it does appear you should be a candidate for TRT. However, getting doc to prescribe TRT for younger guys, particularly borderline cases, is like the proverbial pulling of teeth. Painful!