How do you recover quickly from overtraining?

I’ve been doing sprints in the A.M. 6-days a week and lifting 3x a week along with 2hrs.(+/-) of sport specefic(riding BMX) 4 days a week. I’ve also been eating light(1800 cal. @ 50%pro, 25%carb, 25% fat)so as if you couldn’t see it coming, I’m a hair overtrained(tired, pissed, unmotivated, tired). I was wondering what the best way to get back on track is?

EAT! Your calories are way too damn low for everything you are doing. Your training isn’t too bad, but you are definitely over doing it on the sprints. Two to three days a week are usually enough. Unless you are a competitive sprinter. Then you will train more. But there is usually a mix of hard sprinting and running for recovery. So EAT! And cut back a little.

Thanks Nate. I took today off, and am eating alot today. I need to keep w/ the sprints, though, and good geuss, I’m a pro at BMX and trying to step it up this summer. Any supps that help w/ combating overtraining(other than nandrosol…drug testing)

Surge! It is awesome. I highly recommend it.

This will make all the cabophobics cringe but you need to increase your carbs. With the amount of activity you are not replenishing muscle glycogen and your recovery is going down the tubes. You need to eat a diet specific to your performance goals. Are you trying to loose weight or are you really overweight right now? Trying to improve physical performance and drop a lot of bodyweight can be a very tricky proposition. As far as supplements go, try Biotests Powerdrive, it will help with the constant demand you are placing on your nervous system.

Definitely up your calories and take one week off. This will not kill you it will only help you.

sprints 6days/wk on top of the other stuff? Too much friend! take a week or so off completely then cut sprints to three days max.

Take off a week (maybe two if necessary). Then go back, with less volume, more food.