How Do You Pull? (Sumo or Conventional)

I’m new to powerlifting and so far I’ve been experimenting between conventional stance and sumo stance. But I have a hard time deciding what is right for me.

My conventional is stronger at the moment, however I have to travel much farther. Sumo is weaker probably due to getting the form down correctly and the fact that my legs are probably a weak-point.

The thing is I’ve had several very good deadlifters tell me that sumo is the way to go if you wanna be the best you can be for deadlift. (And vice versa)

What do the experienced competing lifters recommend as far as stance? Also, maybe people could post their best deadlift and their stance. I’m curious to see what the replies will be.

Any help would be appreciated!

Also, I would be competing in a single-ply fed, FYI.

It really depends on your goals. If I was in your shoes I would pull conventional, since your stronger pulling it. But, If sumo doesn’t wreck your hips like it does for me, I would work both. Warm up using sumo, focusing on form up until it gets heavy, then crank away with conventional.

It’s different for everyone. Generally the heavier guys pull conventional. The biggest deadlifts are conventional. Do what you can do the most weight with.

I prefer conventional for the ability to grind through with pure strength.

If you’re just a little bit off on form when you get into heavier weights for sumo it can be hard to even break the ground.

At least it is for me.

I do both but only max on conventional.

I pull sumo because an old injury doesn’t let me pull conventional. I pull more now with sumo (585) than I ever did conventional (565). It took some time to get the technique down but I feel that I have greater potential this way anyhow.

I pull sumo simply because my conventional is horrific.

My best so far is 413 @165 in June '09 (hopefully better now).