T Nation

How Do I Use This Stuff?

Hi

I am a total newbie here and to the 'iron game'. I have inherited a lot of weight equipment from my grandfather and I want to know how to start. These are the things I have:

Barbell + LOTS of weights
A power rack
A six-sided bar you can stand in
A bench

My question is this. With only this equipment can I build myself up? I am thinking so, but I do not know where to start.

Is there a beginners routine on this site? I have been looking at some by Waterbury but I doubt they are for newbies like me.

Thank you for any help.

Ed

Keep reading bodybuilding forums and websites! There is alot to learn but once you understand the fundamentals you will be on your way to a better body in no time!
FF

This might be a good place to start:

http://www.T-Nation.com/readTopic.do?id=640350

Check out exrx.net/Lists/Directory.html for a list of movements sorted by body part.

First things first, the equipment doesn't build you up, you build you up. You can get in better shape with no equipment, old equipment, anything really. So the honest question is do you wanna improve?

If you do, look up a normal beginner routine. Stick with compounds that you can do with your olympic bar (i.e deadlift, squat, bench, military) and the obvious curls and shrugs. Remember the basic rule for working out. It will be there from beginning to end. Eat, Sleep, Work hard. The rest will pretty much fall into place if you want it to.

If it's from your grandfather, hang on to it. It's probably antique.

TNT

Of course you can...