T Nation

How Different is the Squat to the Hack Squat?

Since i started training i've tried doing squats with barbell but it was very painful for my neck etc... since then i 'm only working with the hack squat machine because the weight rests on the soulders and it feels is very confortable.
The thing i want to know is how different are these two exercices and how much could i lift in the squat exercice as i'm capable of lifting 250 pounds for 6reps in the hack squat and 650 pounds in the leg press.

Man the fuck up

The only way to know how much you can squat is to squat.

A lot of people experience discomfort when they first start squatting, but it goes away with time. You also likely have form issues and are not loading the bar on your back properly. The bar should not rest on your neck. You need to get your shoulder blades squeezed together and make a platform for the bar to rest on. Start squatting with the empty bar on your back, and gradually increase the weight over time, but really work on a tight upper back and making a platform for the bar. If you can, get some instruction on squat form from someone who can really squat.

The hack squat and leg press are not substitutes for a real squat.

Hack squats will put a lot more stress on your quads, and offer you a lot of support. On most hack squat machines you'll be in a reclined position so it puts next to no strain on your back, especially if you push back into the pad rather than straight up. The disadvantage of this is that you recruit less muscle to move the weight, and the stimulus for your body to grow is significantly reduced.

It is well worth trying to get used to squatting properly, as you will reap the benefits. Try asking a trainer or more experienced member of your gym to help you learn proper technique, or have a look at some articles or videos on this site. Try sticking with real squats for a month - you'll start to see improvement and you'll soon love them like most of the posters on the site.