How Can You Program Without Squats?

I have a bulged disc (L4/L5) and squatting 135 pounds is enough to make it act up. I’m stretching and strengthening the posterior chain and generally doing everything I can find to heal this because squats are my favorite lift and it’s awful trying to figure out a program to do without them, but it’s been years and I need to get into a real program and can’t wait around any longer hoping I’ll be able to squat heavy.

I have a few years of barbell training experience, but all my numbers have gone down to nothing. The only bright side is that I can apparently deadlift without issue. After sticking with a stupid 5x5 for too long I was all excited to do a year or two of 5/3/1, but now without squats I’m totally lost and have no idea what to do.

There has to be something more intelligent than patching together shitty 12 week programs from bb.com. Any thoughts or advice for how I should train for strength would be much appreciated.

1st I would post a video of your squat to make sure you have good form.

If it is an issue once hitting a certain depth then limit your ROM with a box.

Lower body training and substitutes.

Squats are ideal, but not necessary, lower body training is.

I used to have sciatica and I started limiting my squat ROM and now slowly relowering and making sure I dont get butt wink, which is what I am pretty certain caused my sciatica.

I’ve trained around a torn/reconstructed ACL since Oct. I logged everything after surgery here

Not the same situation, but I was also unable to squat (at least one 2 legs) for a while there.