T Nation

How 'bout JUST a flat bench?

The previous post sparked me to ask a question I’ve been sitting on for a while.I work out at home,and my entire setup consists of a flat bench(it does incline 2 levels),and a set of Powerblocks(the ones that go to 90lbs each).When I started training again, it was adequate(about 2 years ago…)My question is,has anyone else had good success with this setup,or am I shortchanging my results by not just biting the bullet and joining the gym?Ive had reasonably good results-With t-mags help,thee Delta 1250 diet,(And Androsols!),Ive gone from 142,to 165.Im now dieting back down-At 142,my bf was around 7%.But at 165,Its only up to around 10…(The reason I didnt,is I liked the convenience of gettin up at 6a.m.,taking my morning thermogenic,and hitting the weights,without leaving the house-but Im open to suggestions!!)

I think that’s all you really need. I’ve made my best progress in strength and chest size from doing only the flat bench and maybe some close-grips or dips on another day. And you have dumbells, so you can get variety that way if you need it. Basics are all you really need unless you plan on competing in bodybuilding or something. But for the most part, the basics will build strength and size.

Heya Manimals. Here’s the Monkeyboy set up: Basically my room is my gym. I have a small flat bench, a small incline bench, the same 90 lb. powerblock set that you mentioned (just got the new Powerblock cover for 'em) an olympic bar, two curl bars (one w/ close grip) and about two hundred or so lbs. in plates. Plus a stairclimber. Thats it. I’ve been training for two years now, I’ve been accused of using 'roids. I’ve discovered that innovation, determination and a 'lil shot of ingenuity can turn a crawl space into an arena of testosterone and sweat. Oh, I did forget to mential my last piece of equipment, my stereo along w/ kickass cd’s, can’t pump without 'em. Now go to thy room and get busy doing more with less.