T Nation

Horrible Elbow/Forearm Pain

Hey guys,

I've been following a 5x5 routine for a while now with great results. I mainly focus on squats, deads, bench, BB rows, pulups, dips, cleans and snatches. I also throw in some kettle bell and plyo work here and there. I have stayed away from direct arm, work for years but added it in a few months back. I was fine for a while but soon developed horrible pain in my elbows and forearms. It feel like it is at the insertion points of my biceps and triceps as well as the forearm muscles meet the elbow joint. There is also a deep pain in the belly of the biceps muscle. It's gotten to where even when I squat now it starts hurting pretty bad just from gripping the bar. I've been training for 20 years, I take a ton of fish oil and I don't do anything fancy in my training. Has anyone else had this problem and found any relief without injections or medical attention? I would say it's just tendonitis , but it feels like it's deeper in the muscle. Any help/advice is greatly appreciated.

While I definitely haven't been training 20 years, I've recently been trying to build up my forearms. I was doing a lot of forearm work and grip training and I definitely started seeing results, so I stopped "overdoing it" because I don't see them as one of my weak points now.

However, I do experience a similar forearm pain that you describe, but on and off. I'm a software developer, and I've been on a computer for ages without any wrist/arm etc pain. Recently, while I'm at work typing away, I've started to notice my upper/outer fore arm towards my elbow start to hurt. It's a strange uncomfortable feeling... not like sore from training it or something. My wrists have also started doing the same thing. My work environment is no different and I wouldn't expect my arms or wrists or anything to magically start hurting overnight from nothing.