Horrendous Squat Form

Guys, I’d appreciate your help. I have never seen anyone squat as ugly as me. Please, look at my squats in the beginning of this competition video. I squat 180 kg with extreme forward lean - not effective or healthy. I think my quads are not strong enough and therefore the load transfers to stronger posterior muscles (I can DL 235 kg).

But I believe I have also mobility issues somewhere because I can’t properly maintain upright position either with lighter weights…And I’m sure there are also some technical errors independent of lacking quad strength and stiffness. So, what should I do? Thank you very much for your help!

Hey man. I’m no expert, but I have to say I think you are being WAY too hard on yourself. I expected to see a trainwreck, and instead I saw two very solid squats, one at 175 and a slightly uglier one at 180 haha. But you have to understand man, 180 is a max for you! Of course form gets a little bit ugly when you’re at a max lift. Just the fact that 175 looked significantly better tells me that it’s not your technique that’s a problem, but rather the weight is just fucking heavy haha and it is causing some form breakdown. Nothing out of the ordinary.