T Nation

Hormonal Responses to Leg Training

Ok, so we've all heard the old sayings 'squats and deadlifts release the hormones that will make your entire body grow'

And we all know it to be true, right...?

Well I do consider it to be true. The staggering amount of intelligent, big people who attest to it is enough to convince me of it(I've also put on over 22lbs of from what I can see, nearly all muscle in 7 weeks, thanks largely to squats).

My question is, what are the hormones that are released...?
Why are they released?
And can anybody point me towrds some studies that support the notion...?

Anybody…?

I am no expert but i know that squats help release HGH that is naturally produced by the body. Other than that i am not familiar with any more technical terms

So you mean to tell us that all you did these past seven weeks was squat, and it magically made you gain 22lbs of sheer muscle (no mention of food)?

The only studies there have been demonstrate that a relatively insignificant amount of hormones are released during, and shortly after squatting, but it dissipates back to normal levels thereafter.

[quote]mr popular wrote:

The only studies there have been demonstrate that a relatively insignificant amount of hormones are released during, and shortly after squatting, but it dissipates back to normal levels thereafter.[/quote]

I thought this went for lifting in general? From what I’ve read test, hgh, and epinephrine are released in small amounts while lifting but aren’t thought to have any effect on exercise outcome. But I’ve also read in a few places including TN that squats boost test for up to a week. Anyone know anything about this? Isn’t intense exercise on a regular basis something known to decrease test production?