Hopefully This Will be the Log of Extreme Deadlifting

I’m not very extreme. Currently, I’m a full time graduate student who got back into the lifting game last semester when I found another woman who was as dedicated as I wished I had been. This woman stuck by my side for the longest consistent run of working out that I’ve managed since returning to school at the age of 25. Then she went away for the holidays, I was trapped without a car several miles from the gym during a very snowy December, and now I’m probably back to where I was before I met her.

Last semester we did 5-3-1 3 days a week with deadlift, squat, and bench press. My shoulder was giving me trouble for the first part of the semester, so I didn’t set any records in that department. In addition, I’m a naturally smaller, endurance build person, and this strength stuff doesn’t come easily for me; none of my lifts are that impressive.

After years of unsuccessfully trying to affect that, my goals have changed. My new goal is this: I want to be the most consistent, hardworking person in the gym. I don’t care how much I am lifting or how ripped I look. At the age of 28, those things don’t seem that important. Plus, I know that if I am consistent, those things will happen.

So, after years of setting weight (both bar and body) goals, I am done with them.

These are the numbers that I care about:

I will work out 4x per week for this semester.

I will make my at least two of my meals (breakfast and lunch) up at the beginning of each week, freeze them, and take them with me 7 days a week.

I will do some cardio activity that I enjoy 3+ times a week.

Today I did the following (aimed at hypertrophy):

DB upright bench: GVT w/20lb DBs. I got all 10 reps each set, so I’ll bump it up next time.
Machine Chest Fly: 3 sets 12 rep 40lbs