T Nation

Honest Opinions-Complete Beginner

Hello all,

I’m new to the site and I’ve found a ton of the articles that have really helped me out in the gym. I’m a big fan of Thib, and I’ve tried to read all of his articles. Ive been trying to follow the Pound o Week diet from Peter Loux and the Quality Mass Diet from Chris Shugart mixing them together and trying to find what’s best for my body type and my muscular development.

What I would ask of you is a little help and insight on my progression weight-wise because I’m always looking for third fourth and even fifth opinions on how I can become bigger and stronger in the gym.

First off a little background information-

I’m 5’6 155 lbs with a body fat percentage of around 10% or so. I’m a hard gainer, and have been my entire life. I started seriously weight training and dieting around a month and a half ago weighing close to 140 lbs. The weight I’ve put on is more than likely good muscle, even though I’m in a bulking diet. I assume this because I do an almost excessive amount of Cardio work because I play rugby, and that requires us to run all of the time.

Is this an acceptable mass gain for the time I’ve spent dieting and training or should I step it up some?

Before I started seriously training I was ingesting close to 1.6k calories a day and probably like 70g of protein and working out five days a week doing a modified HIT program my friend gave me. I couldn’t put on weight and it really frustrated me because I thought I was training incorrectly or not pushing myself hard enough in the gym. Thankfully I figured out that my problem was in my diet and not my training. I was probably over training even.