Homemade Board Presses

Hey guys, I’m new to the whole strength training scene. Anybody know how to make some board presses for cheap? What kind of materials would you recommend?My gym isn’t hardcore, so I have to adapt and make my own stuff. If anyone can give me some advice, I’d appreciate it. Thanks.

All you need is some 2x6 lumber. Go to home depot or something and grab some from the scrap section. I just duct tape all my boards together.

Bear

[quote]Drecappa wrote:
Hey guys, I’m new to the whole strength training scene. Anybody know how to make some board presses for cheap? What kind of materials would you recommend?My gym isn’t hardcore, so I have to adapt and make my own stuff. If anyone can give me some advice, I’d appreciate it. Thanks.[/quote]

go to home depot and get 1 length of 2x6 and have it cut to 12" pieces, duct tape the ones that you’re going to use.

Thanks for the advice guys. I’ll probably do that this weekend.

We got around 5 or 6 pieces plus 1 long piece out of 1 length of 2x6. I put two boards together permanantly with some screws. Thats the 2 board, and we can make a 3 or 4 board by ductaping them together or using rubber bands.

My God, how cheap do you really need to make them? 2x6’s are only a few bucks each. It takes two 8 or 10-foot boards to make a full set from 1-board to a 5-board.

Most of your cuts will be 12-18 inches, with 5 of the boards being 6-8 inches longer than the rest to use for the handles. For example, my 5-board was made with two 16-inch boards, one 24-inch board, then two more 16-inch boards, all screwed together using 3-inch deck screws. This isn’t rocket-science, guys. You can do the whole set for about $10-12.

Fill a backpack with books/weights. Put it on backwards, lay down and press!

[quote]Antman517 wrote:
My God, how cheap do you really need to make them? 2x6’s are only a few bucks each. It takes two 8 or 10-foot boards to make a full set from 1-board to a 5-board.