Homebrewing Beer

I just started brewing my own beer recently, and I’m wondering if anyone else on T-Nation does this. I seem to recall a few people mentioning it in the “favorite beer” thread. I was thinking people could share some of their favorite recipes and techniques for other members to try. Also, where do you find empty bottles to store your batches?

I think I have enough empties lying around for the batch I’m brewing right now, but it would be nice to have a source for future batches. Thanks a lot, and happy brewing!

I’ve done it once. Everything went great and the beer was great. I just followed some recipe that came with the kit, though I had to buy all of the ingredients. I was a little disappointed with the idea of hop-pellets. I wanted the real buds. But whatever, it was fun and I will probably do it again sometime.

Save up your Sam Adams bottles. You can also go to a bar and ask them for empties. They will look at you funny but they usually let you pick through their dumpster. Make sure they are not twist off bottles as your caps won’t sit right.

The experts say to use only brown bottles, but I’ve used green ones as well with no adverse effects. As long as you store them in a dark place it shouldn’t matter. So, I’ve used Grolsch bottles, Sam Adams, Weissbier bottles (true pints), Guinness, etc.

I also bought a case of bottles - it’s nice to have extras so you don’t have to be a tool and ask your friends to return the bottles if you give some away.

If they still have labels, soak them in hot, soapy water for an hour to get the labels to peel right off and break up any caked on sediment in the bottle. Then, run them through your dishwasher on a sanitize setting or hot rinse and dry (without detergent). Inspect them before bottling your beer to make sure there isn’t anything unsavory still in them.

DB

I brewed a lot. I stopped because I was drinking to much and putting on a TON of weight. It is addictive.