Hitting the Books and the Barbell

So, I’ve lurked for quite sometime, but now I’ve decided to break my silence by signing up and making a log.

I guess I should give some background information–just so everyone knows where I’m coming from. I’m an 18 year old freshman student from Canada and I’ve been lifting for the better part of 3 years. I’m attending a small American university to get an education while still playing the sport I love–ice hockey. I love lifting–cleans, snatches, front squats, and deadlifts being my favorites.

I have never really set myself to a program and have made decent progress, but have decided that in order to go further, I need to dedicate myself and stick with something. So, here I am; starting university and Defranco’s WSFSB II.

I’m out–gotta go lift before my classes start for the day.

it’s rather difficult to judge you, laugh at you, and find things for which to berate you when there are no pictures and details in your profile.

so far, you sound rather normal.

glad you quit lurking.

what are your goals?

Haha, well I guess the lack of pictures and details is both a good and bad thing. I may sound normal, but I’m apparently anything but normal–I mean, how many normal university gals love to lift heavy? I mean, sure, a lot of them don’t mind lifting heavy plates of food in the cafeteria, but other than that…

Anyways, I guess I should post some stats:
Height: 5’5" ish
Weight: 135-140lb (not sure exactly)
Max clean–135
Max snatch–105
Max back squat–215
Max deadlift–255
Max bench press–135

Max clean and deadlift were nailed with a belt. I know the clean can be higher; just gotta straighten out the form.

Current goals:
2x bodyweight back squat and deadlift
155 lb bench press
145 lb clean
I don’t have a current snatch goal due to a wonky shoulder. It’ll tolerate a lot, but loves to click and snap when I do snatches. A real downer–I was just starting to truly like snatches.

August 31st