T Nation

Hit 4 plates today in deadlift.

Today I finally hit 405lbs. I've been training for 5 months and today I weighed in at 160lbs. My happiest moment in the gym so far.

The lift wasn't the cleanest but I got it up. 2 weeks ago I couldn't even get it off the floor.

How long did it take you guys to hit this milestone and how much did you weigh?

[quote]HiFiBoy wrote:
Today I finally hit 405lbs. I’ve been training for 5 months and today I weighed in at 160lbs. My happiest moment in the gym so far.

The lift wasn’t the cleanest but I got it up. 2 weeks ago I couldn’t even get it off the floor.

How long did it take you guys to hit this milestone and how much did you weigh?[/quote]

Well done mate! Pretty damn good for your weight.

I remember the first time i deadlifted - Manage 3 plates i was about 190lbs and about 18 at the time.

I only tried them because there was this guy with huge traps at my gym n he said he never uses shrugs just deadlifts. I wanted huge traps so i did them with him one time to learn.

2 weeks later i hit 4 plates.

[quote]Marzouk wrote:

I remember the first time i deadlifted - Manage 3 plates i was about 190lbs and about 18 at the time.

I only tried them because there was this guy with huge traps at my gym n he said he never uses shrugs just deadlifts. I wanted huge traps so i did them with him one time to learn.

2 weeks later i hit 4 plates. [/quote]

Thanks, I’m 28 so you had 10 years on me, it’s more impressive at 18. 40kgs in 2 weeks is a nice improvement, next goal for me is 3x body weight.

I had to use straps unfortunately, my grip strength hasn’t developed as much as my back strength yet. I only used straps for the 385lbs and 405lbs though.

[quote]HiFiBoy wrote:

[quote]Marzouk wrote:

2 weeks later i hit 4 plates. [/quote]

Thanks, I’m 28 so you had 10 years on me, it’s more impressive at 18. 40kgs in 2 weeks is a nice improvement, next goal for me is 3x body weight.