T Nation

Hip Popping with Wide Stance

OK, so I have been a runner since I was eleven. I'm almost 30. I started lifting for strength almost a year ago (as opposed to "toning"). Now, thanks to the running, I ASSume, ha! my ass sucks. It's flat and frustrating. I only have been front squatting because I lift at home and don't have a rack yet so I squat what I can clean (I also do Bulgarian split squats). I was getting frustrated because I don't feel like my glutes are getting anything out of my squatting, so I read "10 Tips for Flawless Squatting," "Squat 900 Pounds" and "Squatting from Head to Toe."

I decided I need to widen my stance and try box squats. (Also have added straight legged deadlifts.) So I bought a sexy pair of hot pink Chuck's (I don't now why I never wore these before, they're awesome) and dumped all my old cassette tapes out of the milk crate and got to work.

Now when I sumo DL my right hip pops in front. It's bearable. I have a chronically tight right piriformis muscle, and I'm not noticeably lopsided, but my pant cuffs wear on the right and my stride length is shorter for my right leg. But when coming up on the box squats the hip pop is sickening and painful. I can get through about three reps and I have to stop. I found this "Hip Problem" thread http://tnation.tmuscle.com/free_online_forum/sports_body_training_performance_bodybuilding_strength/hip_problem_1 and the consensus seems to line up with my issues (weak glutes and piriformis issues).

When I squat and DL with a shoulder-width stance I have no problems. When I squat with a wide stance with my toes forward (as recommended in one of those Dave Tate articles) the popping lessens, but I feel like I get more power with toes out.

Should I see a PT or will glute activation and stretching the muscles in/around my pelvic girdle over time do the trick? I hate stretching... that's probably what got me here... I also still run 2 miles four or five mornings a week, should I quit that?