T Nation

Hip Mobility Advice for Squat/Dead

Ive been lurking on the forum for a while and decided to finally join. Ive been lifting steady for a few years now, but not very heavy until about a year ago after i lost weight. I was very unhealthy at 6’3 weighing a little over 400, im down to 270 and just trying to train for mass, and im having trouble with some main lifts.

My problem is i have bad hip mobility and getting down to the bar on deadlift and getting low on squats is almost impossible without rounding my back, i just cant squat down very far. Anyone here have any tips on certain stretches or anything of that sort to help get me on track?

My upper body has way surpassed my lower in strength and size. Leg press, extensions, etc. are not cutting it, any advice is much appreciated, thanks.

I typed “hip” in the search function on the top right. “Hip Mobility Exercise” was the third from top.

Click articles.

So many good articles for you to choose from.

Cheers

Hey thanks, im a dummy lol, ill delete the thread if I figure out how, should have searched.

No worries

Congrats on the weight loss, btw

Thanks, got to be an addiction after 50 lbs.

[quote]bigjake34452 wrote:
Ive been lurking on the forum for a while and decided to finally join. Ive been lifting steady for a few years now, but not very heavy until about a year ago after i lost weight. I was very unhealthy at 6’3 weighing a little over 400, im down to 270 and just trying to train for mass[/quote]
Huge congrats on the weight loss. That’s crazy.