Hip/Groin Injury After Deadlifts. Anyone Have Anything Like This?

I’m a lifting noob, 38 years old. I’ve been doing Stronglifts 5x5 for the last 9 months or so. Prior to this, I’ve never lifted at all before. I’ve run into my first “injury.” I am curious if those who are far more experienced than me might have run into something like this before.

I was doing my deadlifts and I had worked up to 330 5x5. I finished them fine, but afterwards, my right hip felt, “off.”

In my groin area on the right, I’ve have a weird sensation for about a week. The strange thing is that I can’t say that I have any pain, more of a strange feeling. When I stand or walk for long periods of time, my upper thigh feels weak (like it would if it were tired.)

I read all of the horror stories on the internet about hernias, but I cannot see or feel any bulge of any kind, there is no pain with bending or exertion.

Here’s the weirdest part, exercising seems to make it feel better. I took a break for a couple of days and then went back to squats. The squats produce no pain at all, and it actually feels better when I do them. Then the weird sensation comes back after I sit for long periods of time.

I have a very sedentary job, and I am on my butt for hours and hours at a computer.

I can kinda feel a knot in my extreme upper thigh (nothing on the abdominal wall) and the weird feeling moves in that direction.

I figured if it were a groin pull or strain, it would be debilitating pain, and this definitely isn’t that. To the extent that there is a pain, it’s more of an “off” feeling. I’d put it at a 2 or 3 on a scale of 10.

Has anyone ever run into something like this before? I haven’t hit the deadlifts since this happened about a week ago, do you think it’s worth trying or should I wait?

Are you stretching before and after deads? I ended up with TERRIBLE pain from my piriformis clamping down on a nerve. Basically, I was hitting deads super hard but never stretching.

1 Like