Hip Flexors for Squatting...

Can anyone tell me the real significance of the hip flexors during squatting? I am a pre-PT student and I read tons of orthopaedics / biomechanics stuff, and I really can’t figure it out. Some say pelvic stability and other stuff, but so many people talk about how their hip flexors are so weak and it hurts their squat. How? When guys say that they are weak off the box during box squats, I don’t get that. How are the hip flexors the issue during active hip extension? Flexiability; sure, but strength???

good question, all I know is that on the concentric of a squat, which if I am mistaken, hip flexion I feel them all the time. Tight hip flexors can be a pain in the ass, espeically for me, i have trouble getting out of the hole on both sqauts and deads. Not because my glutes are weak but because my HF’s are so overactive that my glutes are lengthen, recipical inhibition

But yes the concetric of a squats is hip flexion

[quote]rich503 wrote:
Can anyone tell me the real significance of the hip flexors during squatting? I am a pre-PT student and I read tons of orthopaedics / biomechanics stuff, and I really can’t figure it out. Some say pelvic stability and other stuff, but so many people talk about how their hip flexors are so weak and it hurts their squat. How? When guys say that they are weak off the box during box squats, I don’t get that. How are the hip flexors the issue during active hip extension? Flexiability; sure, but strength???[/quote]

No; the eccentric is hip flexion. The concentric hip extension. Thats why I put in my post; “active hip extension”. You sit back into hip flexion on the eccentric and then EXTEND the hip and back on the concentric.

The concentric is hip extension, the eccentric is hip flexion.