Hip Flexor Pain While Squatting

Quick one for you guys, Im new to the page and in the beginner/intermediate phase in lifting… again. My hip flexors have been killing me after I squat. They do not hurt when I am doing my work load sets, but they do bother me when I am warming up and stretching, After my work sets they are fine for a hour or so then they get so sore I can hardly walk up stairs with out using the hand rails. Is this still newness wearing off. I am following Jim Ripptoes Starting Strength program, mixed with a little of J Wendlers 5/3/1. I have never had this problem in the past, but I have also never squatted so deep before, (Following Starting Strength), where my hips drop below my knees. Please give me some suggestion as what to do to help. Thanks.

post a video

Agreed, you should post a video to diagnose form issues, however I did have the same problem when I started and after a month or so my body adjusted and I was pain free.

Without seeing a video I am betting you are squatting to low compared how wide your going. If your squatting wide going down super low can cause pain in the hips usually due to a lack of flexibility. You can either get more mobility or bring your squat in closer. If you squat close already then I have no clue and will need video.

[quote]Reed wrote:
Without seeing a video I am betting you are squatting to low compared how wide your going. If your squatting wide going down super low can cause pain in the hips usually due to a lack of flexibility. You can either get more mobility or bring your squat in closer. If you squat close already then I have no clue and will need video.[/quote]

^ Yup, I have the same problem. Bringing your stance in will take some stress off your hips. I also found some ab work, and back extensions help.

What’s your warm up look like?